comments 4

Battling redness (reactive, rosacea, acne) – Part 1

redness1Rosy cheeks may look cute, but super red, blotchy cheeks do not. Please join me for a special 2 part series about dealing with redness. I’ve been dealing with persistent redness on my cheeks for the past 2 years or so, and this has led to me trying out a host of products in order to correct and treat it.This first part will focus more on the products I’ve found helpful in treating the redness, and the second part will be about makeup to reduce the appearance of redness.

First steps:

Does your redness ever go away? Is the redness reactive (e.g. after exercise, using a new product, skin allergy)? My redness is always present, but does react to certain ingredients/situations. My triggers are: the sun, alcohol (as an ingredient, as I don’t drink), witch hazel, harsh exfoliating products. I haven’t officially been diagnosed with rosacea, although I have a lot of the classic symptoms. I will be going to the dermatologist soon, and this should probably be the first place for you too, if you haven’t been.

Cleanser:
You’ll want to stick with something very gentle; a gel is nice as it can also provide a cooling effect. If you choose to use an exfoliating product, please make sure it is very gentle! Use of harsh exfoliating cleansers can lead to broken capillaries, and even more redness!

Clinique Redness Solutions Soothing Cleanser – “This extra-gentle, non-drying cream-gel helps calm visible redness and irritation while melting away makeup and impurities. It leaves skin clean feeling comforted.” I have this cleanser, and I love it! It really helps calm my redness.

Murad – Soothing Gel Cleanser – “This patented gel reduces irritation and redness by washing away impurities as it conditions skin to alleviate tightness, stinging and sensitivity.”

Eucerin Redness Relief Soothing Cleanser -“The Eucerin Redness Relief system has been clinically proven to provide immediate redness relief and improve the condition of visibly red skin in four weeks.”

Serums:
If you’re experiencing a flare up, you’ll also want to look into using a serum to deliver additional soothing and calming treatments.

La Roche-Posay Rosaliac AR Intense Localized Redness Serum – “Helps reduce visible redness, irritation and discomfort – suitable for sensitive, rosacea-prone skin. Daily treatment with instant optical neutralization of redness.” I have this serum, it is the very best I have tried and actually helps quickly.

Murad – Sensitive Skin Soothing Serum – “Sensitive Skin Soothing Serum® locks in skin’s moisture to help restore hydration and elasticity to tight, dry, and over-processed skin.”

Jurlique Calendula Redness Rescue – “A powerful yet gentle serum featuring calendula extract to help soothe sensitivity and restore skin’s defenses. ”

NOTE: I have also tried the First Aid Beauty Redness Serum, but showed little results after a few months of day and night use (but it might be good for reactive redness). Boots No7 also has a redness serum at Target, but this one really irritated my skin.

Moisturizer:
There are more and more options out there for moisturizers that also help to treat redness. Most of they have a green tint, however, I have found that this doesn’t actually help mask the redness that much… it’s more about the skincare ingredients.

Clinique Redness Solutions Daily Relief Cream -” This extra-gentle, oil-free moisturizing cream provides instant relief to skin with persistent redness, blotchiness, or broken capillaries.” I use this at least once a day, twice a day if I’m flaring up. Super soothing, and it’s also a nice moisturizer. It is a bit on the heavy side, but I still like it.

La Roche-Posay Rosaliac Skin Perfecting Anti-Redness Moisturizer – “Fortifying anti-redness moisturizer for all skin types experiencing redness.”

Eucerin Redness Relief Daily Perfecting Lotion with SPF – “provides daily moisturization and UV protection while immediately reducing visible redness and blotchiness, for an even-toned complexion.”

There are many more products out there, but this is just a short list of things I have used/would use. Also keep in mind that this is based on my experience, and the results of using these products may vary for you!

Part 2: Makeup for covering redness

4 Comments

  1. Thank you for following me (: I decided to check out your blog and you definitely have some really helpful tips I’m going to have to try!

  2. Pingback: Make up for covering redness – Part 2 | some such butterfly

  3. Redness is one of the hardest things to deal with but some products can really make a difference. Fellow rosacean here. Following your blog!

Leave a Reply

